2015 UUSJ Gala Photo Banner

Sunday, October 29, 2017
Socializing/Networking, 5:30-6:30pm
Program, 6:45-8:30pm

Cedar Lane UU Church,
9601 Cedar Lane, Bethesda, MD 20814


This is the 8th UUSJ Social Justice Awards Ceremony – a celebration of the accomplishments of individuals and congregations designed to inspire and spread good ideas, lift up the good works of fellow UUs, and foster connections.

The event benefits the UUSJ Social Justice Fund, providing up to $500 grant seed for worthwhile social justice efforts that are under or unfunded in UU congregations. Visit Social Justice Grants to apply.


$60 ($25 is tax deductible)



Collaboration Award
Accotink Social Justice Committee – Accotink UU Church

Congregational Social Justice Program Award
Diana Herriman – Mount Vernon Unitarian Church

Emerging Leader Award
Heather Wiemer – The Unitarian Universalist Congregation of Fairfax

Environment/Climate Justice Award
Environmental Justice Project of the Peace and Justice Ministry – First Unitarian Church of Baltimore

Innovative Social Justice Programming Award
All Souls Reeb Project for Voting Rights – All Souls, Church Unitarian

Lifetime Achievement Award
Ken Shilling – Goodloe Memorial UU Congregation

Minister Award
Rev. Dr. Linda Olson Peebles – Interim Minister of Accotink UU Church

Special Recognition Award (Advocacy)
Lavona Grow – Unitarian Universalist Church of Arlington

To see detailed descriptions of each award, see our nominations page.